Welcoming the 6th Annual Diplomat Magazine Awards

Sir Christopher Meyers

Sir Christopher Meyers

On Monday 29th April 2013, Grassroot Diplomat had the pleasure to attend the 6th Annual Diplomat Magazine Awards ceremony at The Langham, London. The awards recognises the achievements of London’s diplomatic community and is one of the most highly anticipated events of the diplomatic calendar. 

The Awards were presented by Sir Christopher Meyer KCMG, our highly witty former UK Ambassador to Washington, who provided warmth and laughter into the ornate dining room. This year, Diplomat Magazine proudly announced the following Ambassadors and High Commissioners for their annual award.

  • Distinguished Contribution to Diplomacy in London 
    Foreign and Commonwealth Office
  • Diplomat of the Year from the Middle East 
    HE Ms Alice Thomas Samaan, Ambassador to the Kingdom of Bahrain
  • Diplomat of the Year from Africa 
    HE Dr Carlos dos Santos, High Commissioner of Mozambique
  • Diplomat of the Year from Asia 
    HE Mr Teuku Thayeb, Ambassador of Indonesia
  • Diplomat of the Year from Eurasia 
    Ms Karine Gazinyan, Late Ambassador of Armenia
  • Diplomat of the Year from Europe 
    HE Mr Georg Boomgaarden, Ambassador of Germany 
  • Diplomat of the Year from the Americas 
    HE Mr Garvin Nicholas, High Commissioner of Trinidad and Tobago
  • Diplomat of the Year from South America 
    HE Mr Roberto Jaguaribe, Ambassador of Brazil

It was a pleasure to see so many familiar faces among the crowd, including the Ambassador of Moldova HE Iztok Jarc, HE Ruth Elizabeth Rouse of Grenada and diplomats from the Nepalese embassy. 

We would like to extend our warmest congratulations to the winners and look forward to getting in touch with embassies for the 2nd Grassroot Diplomat Initiative Award for 2014.